Former priory Saint Michel of Nahuze

This is a former priory. Nowadays, only vestiges remain.


The very pure Roman style, places the church around the Charlemagne time. The building collapsed around 1632. It has most probably been demolished by the Baron of Moux, who was furious at not being able to conquer Montlaur and ordered the destruction of five surrounding villages when retreating.

A manor was built at the foot of the mountain at hamlet “Les Ilhes” which became the residence of the provost and his religious community; soon after it was fortified. There is nothing left from the surrounding walls, only the tower is still standing…

The inhabitants of Montlaur, Ribaute, Lagrasse, would walk in procession to Saint-Michel de Nahuze to ask for rain whilst singing litanies: “San Miquel balhatz nos d’aiga…” (St Michael, give us water) words to which jokers would add: “Barrejada ambé de vi; Maï de vi que d’aïgo, Tout pur encore milhou!” (“Mixed with wine, but with more wine than water, it would even be better!”).

Former priory Saint Michel of Nahuze
Former priory Saint Michel of Nahuze

Prieuré Saint Michel de Nahuze

Ancien prieuré dont il ne reste que des vestiges.


Le style roman très pur situe l’église près de l’époque de Charlemagne. Son effondrement se situe vers 1632. Il est très vraisemblable qu’elle fut démolie sur l’ordre du Baron de Moux, qui, furieux de ne pas pouvoir prendre Montlaur, fit détruire, en se retirant, cinq villages d’alentour.

Un manoir fut bâti au pied de la montagne, au lieu dit les « Ilhes », et devint le séjour du prévôt et de ses religieux. Bientôt on le fortifia; de l'enceinte de murailles, rien ne reste ; la tour, elle, est toujours debout...

Les populations de Montlaur, Ribaute, Lagrasse, se rendaient en procession à Saint Michel de Nahuze pour demander la pluie en chantant des litanies : « San Miquel balhatz nos d’aiga… » ( St Michel donne-nous de l’eau) paroles auxquelles un plaisantin ne manquait pas d’ajouter : « Barrejada ambé de vi ; Maï de vi que d’aïgo, Tout pur encore milhou. » (Mélangée avec du vin, mais avec plus de vin que d’eau , et pur ce serait encore mieux !)

Prieuré Saint Michel de Nahuze
Prieuré Saint Michel de Nahuze