Presentation of Montlaur

Blason

MONTLAUR

Altitude : village at 200 m above sea level
Commune: between 135 m and 552 m above sea level)
Population : 560 Montlaurais
Superficy : 33,92 km2
Density : 15 inhabitants/km2

Collines

Geography

Located in the Corbières area, in the heart of the Cathar country, the village of Montlaur is in a valley defined at the North by Mount Alaric at South by the hill of La Coque. A spring in the centre of the village comes to swell the stream which meets the Orbieu River some kilometres further downstream.
Three small hills overhang the village. On these, are located (from right to left on the above picture):
- the mills of the Couscouillette, nowadays transformed into dwellings (see picture). These tithe mills are the witnesses of the affluent cereal crops (wheat, rye, oats) before the wine era. According to the archives, up to four wind and watermills were operated simultaneously which showed the prosperity of the area.
- the fort of which there are only some remaining stones.
- the mills of Bissat, nowadays transformed into dwellings.

The Village
The vestiges of the fortifications of the former castle are just visible; this walking area offers splendid panoramic views on the village, the plain and the hill of La Coque. The fort consisted of 3 forts each in the other, built in the twelfth century, on an abrupt rock, by Pierre Roger, viscount of Béziers. Montlaur was taken by Simon de Montfort in 1210. There are only a few remains left of the surrounding walls and the gate of "Bissens".

The very picturesque medieval area with its narrow winding lanes, opens to some small squares such as the square of the former town hall (Place de l’Ancienne Mairie) from which you can discover the gate of Bissens.

On the main square, the town hall (mairie), an opulent building constructed during the Third Republic in 1813, provides a fine open space together with the church and the public parks. These green areas, with a picnic corner, are pleasant meeting points, with shade in summertime. A “boulodrome” enables the “boulistes” to practise their favourite sport and to organise tournaments during summer evenings. A children’s playground has been developed which is very quickly besieged by boys and girls as soon as they leave school for the day before going back home.

Alongside, the “stream” canalised in a concrete bed, there is a walking area, where children can play and where parties are organised (dinner in the stream in July).

The village hall (foyer) provides the Montlaurais with a meeting place, where shows and sport activities take place. Close by is the youth centre (maison des jeunes) which is at the disposal of and under the responsibility of the teenagers.

North of the village, next to the cemetery, the imposing building we see cooperative winery , "the MontLaurier."


Collines

mills


The village

The village


The town hall

The town hall


The Church

The Church

Castel Niermans

Castel Niermans : the park

Castel Niermans

Castel Niermans : the park

Castel Niermans

Castel Niermans

Le château Niermans

First constructed in the seventeenth century, the castle of Rigals has been replaced by the present castle or castle Niermans in the nineteenth century but in a seventeenth century architectural style.

Structured around a spectacular alley of plane trees from the Orient, the romantic park of the castle opens up on a vast lawn where majestic cypress-trees evoking Italy, stretch to the sky. With box trees, lavenders and roses beds, a grove and walk-inviting shady alleys, this garden has been created at the end of the nineteenth century by the Mas family.

It is belongs to the list of the major parks of vine-growers’ castles created during the prosperous age of the wine Eldorado. Since then it has hardly been transformed, the swimming pool has been installed where a pond (never built) was supposed to be located.

Charming and full of history, the castle belonged to Edouard Niermans, famous architect of the Café Society who designed the Hôtel Négresco in Nice, the Hôtel du Palais in Biarritz, the Hôtel de Paris in Monte Carlo, the Moulin Rouge, the Casino de Paris, the Folies Bergères, the theatres of the Capucines and Marigny in Paris, amongst others.

Passionate about what then a vast vine domain, Edouard Niermans spent his last years in Montlaur. His son, Jean, has realised the St Michel chapel fresco located inside the church. The park can be visited the first week-end in June or upon request (Ph : 06 08 17 12 74).

Surroundings

- Hamlet of Réqui, located at the foot of Mount Alaric, its origin would come from the "Ricquy" family, who used to live there.
- Domneuve, "domus nova", several residences amongst them a wine domain, the “Cellier des Troubadours”.
- Villefrancou (the term villa, country domain, is joined to a person’s name, franco): wine domain.
- La Fraissinède (comes from the term fraichi: ash-tree): former farm domain which used to be part of the domain of the provost of Saint-Michel. Currently, two private residences, one offering “gîtes” (site)
- Le Plo : farm above St-Genis, at the foot of the hill La Coque, where horseback riding is organised (site)
- La Valfrège, cold valley.
- Montplaisir : former domain transformed to a private residence.
- Les Illes : several private houses located at the entrance of the Congoust river gorges. Further down, the ruins of a square tower are the remains of a domain built at the foot of the Mount Saint-Michel in the tenth century to accommodate a monk community who could not stay at the priory which had become uninhabitable.

Maps covering Montlaur:
- Michelin 344 LOCAL “Aude, Pyrénées-Orientales”, scale: 1/150 000.
- IGN départementale n° 72111, scale: 1/125 000.
- IGN TOP100 Béziers/Perpignan, scale: 1/100 000.
- IGN série orange n° 2446 CAPENDU, scale: 1/50 000.
- IGN série bleue CAPENDU, scale: 1/25 000.

Découverte de Montlaur

Blason

MONTLAUR

Altitude : village situé à 200 m
(commune située entre 135 m et 552 m)
Population : 560 Montlaurais
Superficie : 33,92 km2
Densité : 15 habitants/km2

Village

Géographie

Situé dans les Corbières, en plein pays cathare, le village de Montlaur se trouve dans un val délimité au nord par la montagne d'Alaric et au sud par la colline de la Coque. Une source au centre du village vient gonfler un ruisseau qui se jette quelques kilomètres plus loin dans l'Orbieu.
Trois petites collines surplombent le village. Sur celles-ci, on y trouve (de droite à gauche sur la photo ci-dessus):
- les moulins de la Couscouillède, aujourd'hui transformés en habitations (photo ci-contre). Ces moulins banniers sont témoins des cultures céréalières abondantes (blé, seigle, avoine) avant l'explosion viticole. D'après les archives, jusqu'à quatre moulins à vent et à eau fonctionnèrent à la fois et montraient la prospérité du pays.
- le château-fort dont il ne reste que quelques pierres.
- les moulins de Bissat, aujourd'hui transformés en habitations.

Le Village
Si les vestiges des fortifications de l'ancienne place forte sont peu visibles, ce lieu de promenade offre de splendides vues panoramiques sur le village, la plaine et la Coque. Le château-fort consistait en trois forts l'un dans l'autre, bâtis au XIIe siècle, sur un rocher abrupt, par Pierre Roger, vicomte de Béziers. Montlaur fut pris par Simon de Montfort en 1210. Il ne reste que quelques vestiges des murs d'enceinte et le portail de "Bissens".

Le quartier médiéval très pittoresque avec ses ruelles étroites et venelles tortueuses, aéré par quelques placettes comme la place de l'Ancienne Mairie d'où l'on découvre la porte de Bissens.

Sur la place principale, la mairie, riche bâtiment construit sous la IIIe république en 1813, présente un bel ensemble dégagé avec l'église et les jardins publics.Ces espaces verts, avec un coin pique-nique, sont d'agréables lieux de rencontre, ombragés durant la période estivale. Un boulodrome permet aux boulistes de pratiquer leur sport favori et d'organiser des tournois les soirs d'été. Un espace de jeux pour les enfants y est aménagé et est très vite assiégé, à la sortie des classes, par les écoliers pour se détendre avant le retour au foyer familial.

Par ailleurs, le «ruisseau» canalisé dans un lit bétonné, constitue un espace de promenades, de jeux pour les enfants et d'organisation de fêtes (repas dans le ruisseau en juillet).

Le foyer offre aux Montlaurais un lieu de réunions, de spectacles et d'activités sportives. A proximité, la maison des jeunes est à la disposition et sous la responsabilité de la jeunesse.

Au nord du village, à côté du cimetière, on remarque l'imposant bâtiment de la La cave coopérative "le Montlaurier".


Moulins

les moulins


Vue de Montlaur

Le village


Mairie

La mairie


Eglise

L'église

Parc château Niermans

le château Niermans : le parc

Parc château Niermans

le château Niermans : le parc

Parc château Niermans

le château Niermans

Le château Niermans

Une première construction au XVIIe siècle du château de Rigals a été remplacée par le château actuel ou château Niermans au XIXe siècle mais sur une composition architecturale du XVIIe.

Structuré autour d'une spectaculaire allée de platanes d'Orient, le parc romantique du château s'ouvre sur une vaste pelouse où s'étirent vers le ciel des cyprès majestueux évoquant l'Italie. Parterres de buis, lavandes et roses, petit bois, allées ombragées invitant à la promenade, ce jardin a été créé à la fin du siècle dernier par la famille Mas.

Il s'inscrit parmi les grandes réalisations des parcs des châteaux dits «pinardiers» édifiés à l'époque florissante de l'Eldorado du vin. Depuis, il n'a subi que très peu de transformations.

Lieu de charme et de mémoire, le château fut la propriété d'Edouard Niermans, le célèbre architecte de la Café Society à qui l'on doit entre autres l'hôtel Négresco à Nice, l'hôtel du Palais à Biarritz, l'hôtel de Paris à Monte Carlo ainsi que le Moulin Rouge, le Casino de Paris, les Folies Bergères, le théâtre des Capucines et le théâtre Marigny à Paris.

Passionné de ce qui était alors un vaste domaine viticole, Edouard Niermans séjourna les dernières années de sa vie à Montlaur. Le château est aujourd'hui la propriété de ses petits-enfants. Son fils, Jean, architecte premier grand prix de Rome, a réalisé la fresque de la chapelle St Michel qui se trouve dans l'église. Le parc est ouvert au public le premier week-end de juin et sur rendez-vous (Tel: 06 08 17 12 74).

Les écarts

- Le hameau de Réqui, situé au pied de l'Alaric, son origine viendrait de la famille "Ricquy", qui y habitait.
- Domneuve, "domus nova" plusieurs résidences dont un domaine viticole, le « Cellier des troubadours »
- Villefrancou (le vocable villa, domaine rural, est uni à un nom de personne, franco): domaine viticole
- La Fraissinède (vient de fraichi : frêne) : ancien domaine agricole, qui faisait partie des domaines du prévost de Saint-Michel. Actuellement, deux résidences particulières dont l'une offre des gîtes. (site)
- Le Plo : ferme au-dessus de St-Genis, au pied de la colline La Coque, où des promenades équestres sont organisées (site)
- La Valfrège, vallée froide.
- Montplaisir : ancien domaine devenu résidence particulière.
- Les Illes : plusieurs habitations particulières situées à l'entrée du Congoust. Quelques centaines de mètres plus loin, les ruines d'une tour carrée sont ce qu'il reste d'un domaine construit au pied de la montagne de Saint-Michel au Xe siècle pour recevoir la communauté des moines qui ne pouvaient plus rester au prieuré devenu inhabitable.

Cartes couvrant Montlaur
- Carte Michelin 344 LOCAL « Aude, Pyrénées Orientales » au 1/150 000
- Carte IGN départementale n° 72111 au 1/125 000
- Carte IGN TOP100 Béziers/Perpignan au 1/100 000
- Carte IGN série orange n° 2446 CAPENDU au 1/50 000
- Carte IGN série bleue CAPENDU au 1/25 000