Chapel Carla

Chapel Notre-Dame du Carla


Dominating the gorges of Alsou, which winds through the hills of Lauza and Hull, it is a place full of history and legends. The people of Lagrasse and the surrounding villages, Val mainly for the faithful of the chapel, know this beautiful site where the view stretches from Lacam plate to the barrier of the mountain of Alaric. There stands a small chapel, part of which dates back to the twelfth century. She was half hidden by pines, cypress and oak trees.

Access

on the D 3, after Villemagne Lagrasse and 5 km before, take a path on the right, marked by a small sign. To the left of the road a place to park.

After 20 minutes walk on a semi-shaded path 260 meters above sea level, a modest Chapel is set among pines and oaks.

The oldest part dates back to the twelfth century, the present chapel was built in 1875. It houses a stone statue of the thirteenth or fourteenth century, representing the Virgin Mary, Our Lady of Carla.

The devotion to Notre-Dame du Carla remains with pilgrims from Val de Dagne that make the climb Hill twice a year (the first Sunday of May and early September).

Facing the chapel, the barn was restored in 2006 at the initiative of an association "Friends of Notre-Dame du Carla" and the support of local authorities.

A Calvary, built atop the hill overlooking the gorges of Alsou between the hills of Lauza and Hull to Lacamp tray. The cross current in wrought iron is the work of a blacksmith of Rieux en Val in 1953. Beautiful views of the valley.

Chapel Carla
Chapel Carla
Bergerie

Chpelle Carla

La chapelle de Notre-Dame du Carla


Dominant les gorges de l’Alsou, qui serpente entre les collines du Lauza et de la Coque, il est un lieu chargé d’Histoire et de Légendes. Les habitants de Lagrasse et des villages alentours, du Val principalement pour les fidèles de cette chapelle, connaissent bien ce site magnifique d’où la vue s’étend du plateau de Lacam jusqu’à la barrière de la montagne d’Alaric. Là se dresse une modeste chapelle, dont une partie remonte au XII° siècle. Elle est a demi cachée par les pins, les cyprès et les chênes verts.

Accès

sur la D 3, après Villemagne et 5 km avant Lagrasse, emprunter un chemin à droite, signalé par un petit panneau. A gauche de la route un emplacement pour se garer.

Après 20 mn de marche sur un sentier semi-ombragé à 260 mètres d’altitude, une modeste chapelle se dresse parmi les pins et les chênes verts.

La partie la plus ancienne remonte au XIIe siècle, la chapelle actuelle fut construite à partir de 1875. Elle abrite une statue en pierre du XIIIe ou XIVe siècle, représentant la Vierge Mère, la Madone du Carla.

La dévotion à Notre Dame du Carla demeure auprès des pèlerins du Val de Dagne qui font l’ascension de la colline deux fois par an (le 1er dimanche de mai et début septembre).

Face à la chapelle, la bergerie a été restaurée en 2006 à l’initiative d’une association « Les amis de Notre Dame du Carla » et le soutien des collectivités territoriales.

Un calvaire, érigé au sommet de la colline, domine les gorges de l’Alsou entre les collines de Lauza et la Coque jusqu’au plateau de Lacamp. La croix en fer forgé actuelle est l’œuvre d’un ferronnier de Rieux en Val en 1953. Belles vues sur la vallée.

Cette promenade peut s’inscrire dans le parcours du GR 36.

Chapelle Carla
Chapelle Carla
Bergerie Carla